Uncategorized

Summer 2014 Projects

Hey all!

Big news.. I’m done with school for the year! After being bogged down with all of my commitments and obligations during the semester, it’s a relief to finally be able to pursue my own projects again.

The summer has always been my most productive season. The sun is out and the days are long – more time for me to put in work!
This summer, I’m looking into three main projects/things I want to work on.

1) This Blog

Ok, this was an easy one. I just started this blog and I’m excited begin pumping out content! There’s going to be a lot of experimentation with what kind of posts I’m going to put out. Since its just the start, I’ll post everything from my ideas on diet, supplementation, and training, to posts about mindfulness, meditation, and breathing exercises. I have a wide range of interests and pursuits in the genre of self-improvement so please bear with me as I find my footing.

2) Brazilian Jiu Jitsu

Men are made in different shapes and sizes with different athletic ability, Jiu Jitsu makes us all equal.” – Helio Gracie, Creator of Brazilian Jiu Jitsu

Yes! My sport. My passion. Examining my life, I’d be hard pressed to find something that has improved my character and self-confidence as much as BJJ. I can say without hesitation that this martial art has made me into a better person. This summer, I’m looking to compete even more. I think competitions are the fastest way to improve in this sport. Testing yourself against other people of similar weight and skill level will expose the weak spots in your technique and, more importantly, your character. To compete, I will have to ramp up my training, my diet, and my mental toughness. More than the medals I will hopefully win, I’m looking forward to the things I will learn about myself as I go through the process of preparing. There will definitely be a ton of posts about my journey in BJJ.

3) Adding Resistant Starch to my diet

Just as a quick gloss over how I eat – I eat “paleo” while fasting intermittently. Now, there are lots of different opinions on what constitutes a “paleo” diet, but I’ve found what works for me and “paleo” is the easiest way to describe it without going on for ages. Right now I’m drafting a post going over how I eat most of the time (when I’m not experimenting). Basically I don’t eat all day until 5 pm, and then I eat to satiety until 11 pm. It’s not very scientific. Eating this way saves me time during the day so I can focus on my work and lets me eat before and after my BJJ training sessions.

Recently, I’ve started reading about a kind of starch that can’t be digested by the body. It’s called “resistant starch.” I’m still researching the benefits of RS but I’ve already started to add some into my diet. I’m going to stop intermittent fasting for a bit so I can test out how my body works on RS – I’m excited to see how this works out! I know I’m being vague but again, I’ll get into it in greater detail on a later post.

4) Learning

Just because school’s out doesn’t mean I need to stop learning! I recently read Josh Kaufman’s The First 20 Hours: How to Learn Anything.. Fast! and I’m fascinated. The book basically deconstructs the process of learning a skill into manageable “sub-skills” that can then be practiced and acquired. There’s SO much I want to learn so I’ve yet to decide what I’m going to focus on, but one thing that’s for sure is that I’m going to invest a good amount of time this summer trying to learn new things! A lot of my little “mini-projects” are going to center around learning new things. Here are the top three things that come to mind that I want to learn this summer:

– Surfing
– Personal Finance
– Hitting in Volleyball

5) Reading

“My brother has his sword, King Robert has his warhammer and I have my mind…and a mind needs books as a sword needs a whetstone if it is to keep its edge.” – Tyrion Lannister, A Game of Thrones

Every single successful writer I’ve spoken to on the subject of improving me craft has given me a variation of this advice: “read more, write more.” While I’ve rolled my eyes at their “sage advice” more than a couple times, I still see the truth in what they’re telling me. The more I think about writing a book, and how daunting the task really is, the more I realize just how terrific they are as resources. Think about it, some of the smartest and most successful people in the world sat down and collect all of the life lessons they’ve learned into a convenient and accessible form for us to take in. Whether the books are fiction or non fiction, self-help or canon, reading them will both sharpen and expand my mind.

So that’s it! The top five things I’m going to implement into my life this summer! The majority of my focus will be on the actualization of these goals. That isn’t to say, however, that all my posts will be about these things. I’ve got a lot of things I want to talk about so I hope you’ll stay with me as I blather on :P.

I’ll make sure to keep you guys updated on my progress in these fields!

Until next time!

Standard