Uncategorized

Food for Thought! My Favorite Resources for Personal Growth

Hey everyone. I hope you’re all well. The past week has been hectic. It’s finals time, which is usually a period of very high stress for me. This year has been different. I feel alright for some reason. I can’t quantify the cause with any precision, but my gut tells me that the productivity skills that I’ve learned in the past months are playing a big part.

Breaking down large tasks like final papers into smaller segments, taking the days one by one, and focusing my attention on the tasks with the highest leverage  have made this year’s finals… manageable. 

With that said, I’m still a bit strapped for time. Right now, I’m learning more and more that time is our most valuable resource, so I definitely didn’t want to waste anybody’s time by publishing some half-assed blog post.

This week’s blog post is a change of pace. After personally experiencing an increase in productivity and wellbeing with a simultaneous decrease in stress levels and overwhelm, I felt incredibly thankful that I’ve had access to the wealth of information and wisdom that’s available both online and in books. Listed below are the blogs, podcasts, youtube channels, and books that I use most frequently or have helped me the most.

Disclaimer – I do not profit by any means from the promotion of these products. Every item on this list is something that I’ve personally used and benefitted from and this promotion is solely for the sake of sharing resources.

Books:

The Power of Habit – Charles Duhigg

The ONE Thing – Gary Keller

The War of Art – Stephen Pressfield

The 4-Hour Work Week – Tim Ferriss

Meditations – Marcus Aurelius

Anti-Fragile – Nassim Taleb

Podcasts:

The School of Greatness

The Tim Ferriss Show

The James Altucher Show

The Joe Rogan Experience

Blogs:

Brain Pickings (written by Maria Popova)

4hourblog (written by Timothy Ferriss)

Youtube Channels:

Tai Lopez – I mostly use his book reviews/summaries

I hope that these resources help you as much as they helped me. Now I’ve gotta go work on this paper! Thank you for reading!

Till’ Next Time

Becoming Batman

Standard

2 thoughts on “Food for Thought! My Favorite Resources for Personal Growth

  1. I think the Internet is something I take for granted too often. Honestly, at least two dozen times a day I look something up that I have no idea about. This is instant and seamless. The world’s knowledge at my fingertips? What the hell. It makes me wonder how the world today isn’t producing the smartest people in history. Sure, the average population is a great deal more informed, but for the most part, our modern day geniuses are no different from, say, Goethe, Da Vinci, and Beethoven, who worked with nothing but paper and word-of-mouth. Crazy shit.

    Nice job on the blog, Joseb. I’m officially a subscriber 😀

    Like

    • Awesome comment Cameron. In Peter Diamandis’ book, Abundance, there’s a cool fact about how a Maasai tribesman with a smartphone has more information at his fingertips than President Clinton did while he was in office.

      I agree that the internet is an unparalleled resource, but more is not always better. It’s very easy to be overwhelmed by the firehose of data being thrown in our faces at every moment which, over time, degrades our ability to be present and learn. This is why I think it’s absolutely crucial to refine our abilities to sort through information so that we hedge our chances of getting good data.

      Also, I’m very impressed by the geniuses of history – it’s hard to imagine the literal hunting and gathering that they had to do to collect information.

      Thanks so much for subscribing!

      Like

Comments are closed.